Verified:

AndrewMose Game profile

Jul 8th 2011, 17:54:09

Has someone ever tried to manipulate public market prices by placing a small number of items that you need at a very low price?

i.e. I am a casher buying business tech and the current price is $3.5k per pt. I place a hundred or so pts on the market at $2.5k. Stupid techers then undercut eachother based on the $2.5k and all of the sudden tech has dropped in price by 40%.

Tertius Game profile

EE Patron

Jul 8th 2011, 20:13:36

Depends on the demand. You'd need to place enough so that it wouldn't immediately be bought by SOs for the techers to even see that as the price.

Detmer Game profile

Jul 8th 2011, 20:43:49

You could certainly do that. You are capable of seeing what the highest standing order price is by "Asking". As long as you are above that you could potentially get some techers to blindly undercut, thus lowering the prices.

Rockman Game profile

Jul 8th 2011, 21:18:14

That would work until a casher sees your tech at 1k below the price he normally pays for tech and immediately gobbles it up ... in other words, it won't work.

Marshal Game profile

Jul 8th 2011, 21:25:06

and there are standing orders at low prices.
Patience: Yep, I'm with ELK and Marshal.

ELKronos: Patty is more hairy.

Gallery: K at least I am to my expectations now.

LadyGrizz boobies is fine

NOW3P: Morwen is a much harsher mistress than boredom....

dy1985 Game profile

Aug 8th 2011, 11:23:59

But wouldn't selling max be more convenient?

Marshal Game profile

Aug 8th 2011, 21:33:44

yes but some players want to screw others buy selling tech, military, etc much lower than current price.

highrock Game profile

Aug 9th 2011, 2:32:40

you may be able to do this for a very brief amount of time, but eventually the market will correct itself and get back up to the equilibrium price.
formerly Viola MD

Marshal Game profile

Aug 9th 2011, 21:19:51

yea unless some other sellers are dumb and undercut that market screwer.