Verified:

Lambchops Game profile

Nov 10th 2017, 17:57:44

I'm fairly new to EE, played a few games this year and I think I understand most things except this just happened:

I'm playing in the A tourament server. Someone has just attacked me 9 times without declaring war, plus a couple of offensive spy operations, yet GDI won't let me attack them back.

In fact I can't even do a normal vanilla "Spy" operation against them, it says GDI won't allow without first declaring war.

The other players networth is currently a bit less than 2x my networth.
Yes I am sure I am trying to spy/attack the right player....
Yes I am just trying to "Spy" not any other offensive spy operation.... since when do you need to declare war to spy?

paradox

EE Patron

Nov 10th 2017, 18:54:38

I'm in A and can see the attacks, so I can identify both countries involved.

The other player's NW is currently a bit *MORE* than 2x your NW, that's why you cannot attempt a spy op. GDI affects both military and spy operations.

When the other player attacked you, he was less than 2x your NW. He then built his land, acquired military, whatever, to gain NW to more than 2x your NW, outside of GDI range.

With the current NW's of both countries, you would have to gain about 15k NW to be within GDI range and attempt an op. Of course, that would put you back within his range too.

He could also drop NW by selling off some tech or military and get back into GDI range.

Lambchops Game profile

Nov 11th 2017, 2:57:24

Thanks for your answer.
The other country is now more than twice my networth, perhaps I mis-calculated this in my previous post (it was just before I went to sleep) however I wouldn't normally make such a simple mistake. Regardless I am still confused.

I have games on 2 other servers. Trying to spy on a coutry > 2x my networth with both of us in GDI gives these results:

Express: Success. (Target is > 3x my networth)
Primary: Success.